Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras

力哥
力哥
力哥
1083
文章
0
评论
2019年12月1日20:00:00Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras已关闭评论 148 次浏览
Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras

In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990's Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them both.

The Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogotá, safe from the political upheaval terrorizing the country. Seven-year-old Chula and her older sister Cassandra enjoy carefree lives thanks to this protective bubble, but the threat of kidnappings, car bombs, and assassinations hover just outside the neighborhood walls, where the godlike drug lord Pablo Escobar continues to elude authorities and capture the attention of the nation.

When their mother hires Petrona, a live-in-maid from the city's guerrilla-occupied slum, Chula makes it her mission to understand Petrona's mysterious ways. But Petrona's unusual behavior belies more than shyness. She is a young woman crumbling under the burden of providing for her family as the rip tide of first love pulls her in the opposite direction. As both girls' families scramble to maintain stability amidst the rapidly escalating conflict, Petrona and Chula find themselves entangled in a web of secrecy that will force them both to choose between sacrifice and betrayal.

Inspired by the author's own life, and told through the alternating perspectives of the willful Chula and the achingly hopeful Petrona, Fruit of the Drunken Tree contrasts two very different, but inextricable coming-of-age stories. In lush prose, Rojas Contreras sheds light on the impossible choices women are often forced to make in the face of violence and the unexpected connections that can blossom out of desperation.

下载地址
Fruit of the Drunken Tree by Ingrid Rojas Contreras 此处信息已被隐藏,请在下方输入 验证码 查看隐藏内容

关注本站微信公众号,回复“验证码”,获取验证码。在微信里搜索“力哥爱英语小站”或者微信扫描二维码关注本站公众号。(注意:如果不会使用,点我查看教程)
展开全文
weinxin
扫码关注公众号
力哥爱英语,只分享有价值的英语学习资源。关注公众号,获取更多内容。
力哥
  • 版权声明: 发表于 2019年12月1日20:00:00
  • 转载注明:https://ienglish521.com/2810.html